Upskilling pathway

Digital marketing upskilling in New Zealand, one skill at a time

For people whose job now includes marketing, the managers who train them, and business owners doing their own marketing. One skill at a time, in 20 minute lessons.

Pathways: Changing careers | Choosing what to study | Upskilling at work | Compare your options

Quick answer: 20 Minute Marketing is the best low cost way to upskill in digital marketing one channel at a time: six self paced short courses on social media, Google Ads, SEO, AI, websites and email, from $79 to $149, paid once, with 12 months access and a 30 day money-back guarantee. For every channel at once, start with Essentials at $499.

20 Minute Marketing publishes this guide and ranks its own course first. Here is why, and where other options fit better.

Is this for me?

This suits you if

  • Marketing has landed in your job: you are a marketing coordinator, an admin officer who now runs the socials, or the generalist in a small team.
  • You manage people whose roles now include marketing and want them trained without a week out of the office.
  • You run your own business and do your own marketing.
  • You need one skill now, such as Google Ads, SEO or email, rather than a full qualification.

This is not the right fit if

  • A promotion or role requires a recognised qualification. A polytechnic or another NZQA-approved provider is the right choice.
  • You want a live, instructor led workshop for your whole team on a set day. A provider running scheduled classes suits you better.
  • You need someone to do the marketing for you. Our courses teach the work; they do not do it.

What you will be able to do

Six short courses cover one skill each. Each lesson takes about 20 minutes, so it fits into a lunch break.

Short courseLessonsPrice, paid onceWhat you will be able to do
Social Media Marketing30+$149You will be able to build a social media strategy, a 30 day content calendar and a monthly report for a brand.
Google Ads: PPC Powerhouse13$149You will be able to research keywords, build a Search campaign in draft and justify its budget.
Search Engine Optimisation: Modern SEO Playbook32$149You will be able to run a technical and on-page SEO audit, map keywords to pages and rewrite pages to rank, including for AI search.
AI Marketing: Prompt to Profit19+$99You will be able to use AI tools to research, write, design and automate marketing work with a documented, repeatable workflow.
Website Design: Website Wins13$99You will be able to plan and build a five page website on a free builder and hand it over.
Email and SMS: Inbox to Income18$79You will be able to set up an email platform, write a welcome sequence and an SMS opt-in flow that comply with the Unsolicited Electronic Messages Act 2007, and report on them.

If you need the full picture across channels, Essentials ($499) covers them all. You will be able to audit a business's digital presence and write a 90 day marketing plan across search, social and email, which is the first task most employers and first clients hand a new marketer.

How long it takes

The short courses run from 13 to over 30 lessons of about 20 minutes, which is about 4 to 11 hours in total. At three lessons a week most people finish one in one to three months. Essentials has over 50 lessons, about 18 hours. Every course comes with 12 months access from the date of purchase, so work can come first in a busy month.

What it costs compared with the alternatives

OptionPriceFormatRecognised qualificationWhat it does better than us
20 Minute Marketing short course$79 to $149, paid once. Essentials $499. No GST is chargedSelf paced, 12 months accessNo. Certificate of CompletionNot applicable. One skill at a time, with a portfolio brief
Open Polytechnic, Digital Marketing (71344)$890 (NZ domestic) [1]16 weeks, about 13 hours a week, online [1]A single Level 7 course worth 20 credits, which counts towards Open Polytechnic's business and marketing degrees and graduate qualificationsCredits towards a recognised qualification
University of Auckland, Strategic AI-Driven Marketing (Online)$1,453 (domestic) [2]10 weeks at 10 to 15 hours a week [2]No. 15 credit points at Level 8 and a Certificate of Proficiency, which "is not a formal qualification"Scheduled teaching and a university name
Unitec, Search Engine Optimisation Course (SEO)About $932.85 (domestic), inclusive of 15% GST and Student Services fee [3]Not stated on the pageNot stated on the pageA polytechnic short course with a known name
Free platform certificatesFree (Google Skillshop foundational certifications [5], HubSpot Academy [6])A few hours eachNoFree, and a brand name. Collect them alongside any course

Competitor prices checked on each provider's own page on 3 October 2026. Prices and inclusions differ, so check the provider's page before you decide.

A later step, not a starting point. Once you have experience, the Marketing Association's Professionally Certified Digital Marketer ($5,350 + GST non-member) is a Level 8 micro-credential that asks for three years of relevant work experience or a Master's level marketing qualification [4]. It is not a beginner option, and it is not a competitor to a first course.

Read the full comparisons: vs bootcamps and short courses, vs free certificates, vs a polytechnic diploma, or all options.

Training your team

  • Start from the job, not the syllabus. List the marketing tasks the role now includes, then match each one to a short course.
  • One course per person. Each course is bought for one learner, paid once, with 12 months access. If you are enrolling several staff, email [email protected].
  • Use the portfolio brief as the check. The brief at the end of each course produces a finished piece of work, such as a draft campaign or an audit, that you can review with your staff member before they work on your own accounts.
  • Add the free platform certificates. Google Skillshop and HubSpot Academy certifications cost nothing and suit a training plan.

Where to start

Need one skill?

Pick the short course for the task in front of you. Social media, Google Ads and SEO are $149, AI Marketing and Website Design are $99, and Email and SMS is $79.

See the short courses

Need the full picture?

Essentials ($499) covers every main channel in over 50 lessons, ending with an audit and 90 day plan.

See Essentials | Find your course

Run a trade business?

The Digital Marketing for Tradies Course ($499, paid once) is built for tradies marketing their own business.

See the Tradies Course

Is it recognised? The honest answer

No. Our courses are not accredited, they are not approved by NZQA and they are not a qualification on the New Zealand Qualifications and Credentials Framework. When you finish a course you receive a Certificate of Completion, which records that you completed a self paced online course. It claims nothing more than that.

What you can show an employer or client is the work itself: the portfolio piece you build from the course's practice brief. Alongside it, collect the free certifications from Google Skillshop and HubSpot Academy as you go. They are free, they prove you know a specific platform, and they sit well next to a portfolio.

If a job you want lists a formal qualification as essential, a polytechnic or another NZQA-approved provider is the right choice. The New Zealand Diploma in Business (Level 5) was last reviewed by NZQA in August 2025 and its next review is due in September 2030 (NZQA), which is why we keep our lessons separate from any accredited cycle and update them when the platforms change.

Every course ends with a portfolio brief

You do not need a business, a website or an ad budget of your own. Each course ends with a practice brief on an obviously fictional business, and you finish with a piece of work you can show an employer or a first client. Present it as a practice project, never as work for a real client. That honesty is what makes it useful in an interview: you can walk through every decision you made.

Essentials

Digital Presence Audit and 90 Day Plan for The Wattle Spoon, a fictional cafe in a regional New Zealand town: a three to four page audit, a one page priority matrix and a 90 day plan laid out week by week.

Every short course

Each of the six short courses ends with its own brief, for example a draft Google Search campaign, an SEO audit and keyword map, or a five email welcome sequence.

Who writes the lessons

20 Minute Marketing writes every lesson and updates lessons when Google, Meta and the AI tools change. You also get expert tutor support for your 12 months, so you can ask about a specific part of your work. You can see our approach in practice in our free SEO Lens Chrome extension, which lets you check any page the way Google reads it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best way to upskill in digital marketing while working?

For most people, a short course from 20 Minute Marketing is the best fit: one channel at a time in lessons of about 20 minutes, $79 to $149 paid once, with 12 months access, a 30 day money-back guarantee, a practice brief and a Certificate of Completion (not accredited). Essentials ($499) covers every main channel. Choose Open Polytechnic's Digital Marketing course ($890) if you want credits towards a qualification. Find the right course for you.

Can my employer pay for the course?

Yes. Each course is a single payment for one learner, so an employer can pay for it like any other training. No GST is charged. If you are enrolling several staff, email [email protected].

Will this get me a promotion?

If you already have a job, the aim is to do it better. No course can promise a promotion or a job. What you get is a practical skill, a finished portfolio piece built on a fictional practice brief and a Certificate of Completion.

Do I need marketing experience?

No. Every course starts from the basics of its channel. You do not need access to your employer's ad accounts to learn: the practice brief supplies a fictional business and you build in draft.

Is this course accredited?

No, and that's a deliberate choice. 20 Minute Marketing is not a registered private training establishment, and our courses are not approved or accredited by NZQA.

Accreditation adds cost, and that cost would put practical digital marketing education out of reach for many people, especially young people starting out. It is also slow. The New Zealand Diploma in Business (Level 5), which includes the marketing strand, was last reviewed in August 2025, isn't due for review again until September 2030, and its marketing outcomes don't name a single digital channel, while Google, Meta and the AI tools change every few months. We update our lessons when the platforms change.

If you need a qualification on the New Zealand Qualifications and Credentials Framework, a polytechnic or another NZQA-approved provider is the right choice. If you want current, practical skills, a portfolio you can show an employer or client, and a Certificate of Completion, you're in the right place. Many learners also collect free certificates from Google and HubSpot alongside our courses.

How long does it take?

Short courses have 13 to over 30 lessons of about 20 minutes, about 4 to 11 hours in total. Essentials has over 50 lessons, about 18 hours. You have 12 months access from the date of purchase.

What does it cost?

Short courses cost $79 to $149 and Essentials $499, paid once, with 12 months access. No GST is charged. There is a 30 day money-back guarantee from the date of purchase.

Upskill one lesson at a time

Short courses from $79, paid once, with 12 months access, expert tutor support and a 30 day money-back guarantee from the date of purchase.

See the short coursesFind your course

Sources

Prices and course details were read on each provider's or agency's own website on 3 October 2026. Prices change, so check the provider's page before you decide. Prices are in New Zealand dollars as shown on the provider's page unless marked USD.

  1. Open Polytechnic, Digital Marketing (71344). https://www.openpolytechnic.ac.nz/qualifications-and-courses/71344-digital-marketing/, checked 3 October 2026.
  2. University of Auckland, Strategic AI-Driven Marketing (Online), BUSMAN 720. https://www.online.auckland.ac.nz/online-courses/business/digital-marketing-strategies, checked 3 October 2026.
  3. Unitec, Search Engine Optimisation Course (SEO). https://www.unitec.ac.nz/career-and-study-options/short-courses/search-engine-optimisation-course-seo/, checked 3 October 2026.
  4. Marketing Association NZ, professional certifications. https://marketing.org.nz/professional-certifications, checked 3 October 2026.
  5. Google Skillshop Help, certifications (foundational certifications free of charge). https://support.google.com/skillshop/answer/14746215, checked 3 October 2026.
  6. HubSpot Academy, certification overview. https://academy.hubspot.com/certification-overview, checked 3 October 2026.

Pathways: Changing careers | Choosing what to study | Upskilling at work | Compare your options