Compare your options

A lower cost alternative to a digital marketing bootcamp or short course

What bootcamps and short courses in New Zealand cost, what they include, and when a self paced course makes more sense.

Compare: All comparisons | vs polytechnic diploma | vs bootcamps and short courses | vs free certificates

Quick answer: 20 Minute Marketing is the best value alternative to a digital marketing bootcamp or short course in New Zealand: self paced online, paid once, Essentials $499, Deluxe $799 (100 lessons, about 33 hours) or Expert $999, 12 months access and a 30 day money-back guarantee. Choose the University of Auckland ($1,453, 10 weeks) or a Unitec short course if you want scheduled teaching.

20 Minute Marketing publishes this guide and ranks its own course first. Here is why, and where other options fit better.

Side by side: bootcamps and short courses vs 20 Minute Marketing

CoursePriceLength and formatWhat you getSource
20 Minute MarketingEssentials $499, Deluxe $799, Expert $999, paid once. Short courses $79 to $149. No GST is chargedSelf paced lessons of about 20 minutes, start any day, 12 months accessPractical lessons, a practice brief for your portfolio, expert tutor support and a Certificate of CompletionCurrent price list
Digital Marketing School NZ, Diploma in Digital Marketing (Level 6)$9,824 domestic tuition, plus $600 for a Canva and AI subscription1 year full time or 2 years part time, online plus live classesAn NZQA Level 6 qualification, approved for StudyLink, per the provider's page[1]
Marketing Association NZ, Professionally Certified Core Skills Marketer$5,250 + GST non-member, $3,250 + GST memberFour core and two elective workshops, up to two yearsA level 5 micro-credential. Open entry. Core workshops include The Essentials of Digital Marketing and Social Media for Marketers[2]
Unitec, Social Media Marketing CourseAbout $932.85 (domestic), inclusive of 15% GST and Student Services feeNot stated on the page. Project based, weekly expert sessionsA short course[3]
Unitec, Search Engine Optimisation Course (SEO)About $932.85 (domestic), inclusive of 15% GST and Student Services feeNot stated on the pageA short course[4]
Unitec, Google Certified Course (Web-based Advertising and Analytics)About $943.05 (domestic), inclusive of 15% GST and Student Services feeNot stated on the pageA short course[5]
University of Auckland, Strategic AI-Driven Marketing (Online)$1,453 (domestic), inclusive of GST, excluding the Student Services Fee and course books10 weeks at 10 to 15 hours a week, fully online15 credit points at Level 8 and a Certificate of Proficiency, which the university says "is not a formal qualification"[6]

We found few digital marketing bootcamps in New Zealand. Coding bootcamps teach a different skill set, so they are not in this table.

The price gap

Our Essentials course costs $499, paid once, for over 50 lessons. That is less than one Unitec short course at about $932.85 [4]. Our most complete course, Expert, costs $999, which is less than a tenth of the Digital Marketing School NZ diploma at $9,824 plus $600 [1].

The gap is real, and so are the differences below. A diploma or a university course is not overpriced. It includes people, time and a recognised name that a self paced course does not.

What bootcamps and short courses do better

  • Live teaching and set dates. Digital Marketing School NZ runs live classes, Unitec runs weekly expert sessions on its Social Media Marketing course, and the University of Auckland runs a 10 week course [1] [3] [6]. Working to a schedule keeps many people on track.
  • A recognised credential. Digital Marketing School NZ's diploma is an NZQA Level 6 qualification and the Marketing Association's Core Skills Marketer is a level 5 micro-credential [1] [2]. We do not offer either.
  • A known name. A university, a polytechnic or the Marketing Association is familiar to hiring managers.

Where 20 Minute Marketing is different

Price. $79 to $999, paid once, with no payment plan needed and no GST charged.

No schedule. Start any day and study in 20 minute lessons around a job, school or caring.

Hands on channel skills. Separate lessons for SEO, Google Ads, social media, email and SMS, websites and AI tools.

A portfolio piece in every course. Each course ends with a practice brief built on an obviously fictional business, so you finish with work you can show.

Kept current. 20 Minute Marketing writes every lesson and updates lessons when the platforms change.

Which should you choose?

  • Choose 20 Minute Marketing if you want the practical skills at a fraction of the price, and you are comfortable setting your own pace.
  • Choose a diploma or scheduled short course if you want live teaching, set dates or a recognised credential, and the price is manageable for you.
  • Try us first if you are unsure whether digital marketing suits you. A $79 to $149 short course is a low cost way to find out before a bigger commitment.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best alternative to a digital marketing bootcamp in New Zealand?

For most people, 20 Minute Marketing is the best alternative: self paced online, paid once, Essentials $499, Deluxe $799 or Expert $999, short courses from $79, 12 months access, a 30 day money-back guarantee, a practice brief for your portfolio in every course and a Certificate of Completion (not accredited). A scheduled course such as the University of Auckland's Strategic AI-Driven Marketing ($1,453, 10 weeks) is better if you want set dates and a university name. See Deluxe or find the right course for you.

Is this course accredited?

No, and that's a deliberate choice. 20 Minute Marketing is not a registered private training establishment, and our courses are not approved or accredited by NZQA.

Accreditation adds cost, and that cost would put practical digital marketing education out of reach for many people, especially young people starting out. It is also slow. The New Zealand Diploma in Business (Level 5), which includes the marketing strand, was last reviewed in August 2025, isn't due for review again until September 2030, and its marketing outcomes don't name a single digital channel, while Google, Meta and the AI tools change every few months. We update our lessons when the platforms change.

If you need a qualification on the New Zealand Qualifications and Credentials Framework, a polytechnic or another NZQA-approved provider is the right choice. If you want current, practical skills, a portfolio you can show an employer or client, and a Certificate of Completion, you're in the right place. Many learners also collect free certificates from Google and HubSpot alongside our courses.

Are there digital marketing bootcamps in New Zealand?

We found few digital marketing bootcamps in New Zealand. Several well known New Zealand bootcamps teach coding, which is a different thing, so we left them out. The closest options for marketing are a diploma such as Digital Marketing School NZ's Level 6 diploma, the Marketing Association's workshop certifications, and university or polytechnic short courses.

Is the University of Auckland short course a qualification?

Not on its own. The University of Auckland says the course is worth 15 credit points at Level 8 and leads to a Certificate of Proficiency, which "is not a formal qualification". Its fee of $1,453 includes GST but not the Student Services Fee or course books.

Why is 20 Minute Marketing so much cheaper?

Our courses are self paced. There is no campus, no cohort to run, no live class schedule and no accreditation overhead, so the price covers the lessons, the practice briefs, expert tutor support and updates when the platforms change.

Is a self paced course harder to finish?

It can be. Without a class to keep up with, the pace is up to you. Our lessons are about 20 minutes each so they fit into a short daily habit, but if you know you need a timetable, a scheduled course may suit you better.

Not sure where to start?

Answer three questions about your experience, your goal and your time, and we will point you to the right course.

Find the right courseSee all courses

Sources, checked 3 October 2026

Prices and course details were read on each provider's or agency's own website on 3 October 2026. Prices change, so check the provider's page before you decide. Prices are in New Zealand dollars as shown on the provider's page unless marked USD.

  1. Digital Marketing School NZ, Diploma in Digital Marketing (Level 6). https://www.digitalmarketingschool.ac.nz/diploma/diploma-in-digital-marketing, checked 3 October 2026.
  2. Marketing Association NZ, professional certifications. https://marketing.org.nz/professional-certifications, checked 3 October 2026.
  3. Unitec, Social Media Marketing Course. https://www.unitec.ac.nz/career-and-study-options/short-courses/social-media-marketing-course/, checked 3 October 2026.
  4. Unitec, Search Engine Optimisation Course (SEO). https://www.unitec.ac.nz/career-and-study-options/short-courses/search-engine-optimisation-course-seo/, checked 3 October 2026.
  5. Unitec, Google Certified Course (Web-based Advertising and Analytics). https://www.unitec.ac.nz/career-and-study-options/short-courses/google-certified-course-web-based-advertising-and-analytics/, checked 3 October 2026.
  6. University of Auckland, Strategic AI-Driven Marketing (Online), BUSMAN 720. https://www.online.auckland.ac.nz/online-courses/business/digital-marketing-strategies, checked 3 October 2026.

Compare: All comparisons | vs polytechnic diploma | vs bootcamps and short courses | vs free certificates